Is license suspension part of a DWI conviction?

On Behalf of Longman Jakuback

There are lots of legal issues that come with a driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge. In addition to jail time and fines, drivers in Louisiana can also have their licenses suspended after a DWI conviction. Loss of license impacts you socially, but it can also stop you from earning a living or performing family duties.

While no one anticipates driving under the influence, it does happen frequently. That is why you should understand the full range of penalties you may face in the event of an arrest and conviction. Here are a few important points to consider should you face a DWI charge.

First, second, and third offenses

First-time offenders will have their licenses suspended for a period of one year. Two-year suspension periods accompany second DWI offenses. By the third offense, penalties become even more severe. Drivers will lose their driving privileges for three years or 1,095 days.

Elevated BAC

People with a BAC of .20 or higher will receive elevated penalties depending on the number of offenses. For the first DWI, the license suspension period lasts for two years, or 730 days. For second offenses, the suspension period lasts for four years, or 1,460 days.

Underage DUI

Drivers under the age of 21 can receive a conviction with a BAC ranging from .02 to .079. In this case, underage drivers can have their licenses suspended for one year.

Once the suspension period is complete, drivers must take certain steps to have their licenses reinstated. This entails paying a reinstatement fee, which varies according to the number of offenses. Drivers pay $100 for the first offense, $200 for the second offense, and $300 for the third offense. Underage drivers must pay $60 to reinstate their license. Drivers must also secure three years of liability auto insurance.

Recent Post



A Consultation

Fields Marked With An “*” Are Required

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Don’t Wait. Contact Our Louisiana
Attorneys Today.

Call- 225-383-3644