What is the full cost of a DWI?

On Behalf of Longman Jakuback

After receiving your recent DWI, you must now fully comprehend how the charge affects your financial life. How should you plan your finances in the coming weeks, months and years?

American Addiction Centers explores the full cost of a drunk driving charge. Learn which charges you should expect related to your encounter with Louisiana law enforcement.

Attorney fees

Before your day in court, you may want or need to secure a legal advocate’s expertise and experience in building a criminal defense. Even if you choose a public defender over an attorney or lawyer, expect to spend roughly $1,500 to $5,000 for your initial DWI charge.

Fines and fees

Those with a first-time DWI often face individual court fines totaling about $150 to $1,800. You may pay a fee for spending time behind bars, which may amount to $10 to $300, probation fees ranging from $200 to $1,200 and sentencing fees of roughly $100 to $250.

Community service

Do you know whether you must complete community service as part of your charge? If so, you could face a fee lower than $100. That said, your specific circumstances and case may vary that total considerably.

Ignition interlock device

The court may order you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle during your license suspension period, even if you do not have any other DWIs on your criminal record. Anticipate paying between $500 and $1,500 for installation, and you must pay for ongoing maintenance for the device.

DWIs affect your life in multiple ways. By understanding those ways, you may create a solid resiliency plan.

Recent Post



A Consultation

Fields Marked With An “*” Are Required

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Don’t Wait. Contact Our Louisiana
Attorneys Today.

Call- 225-383-3644